HOME    |    CONTACT US    |    SEARCH   
Klickitat PUD

Commission and Management

Public Utility District No. 1 of Klickitat County is governed by a three member Board of Commissioners elected by the citizens of Klickitat County. Each commissioner represents a different district of the county and serves a six year term. The commissioners also represent Klickitat PUD as delegates to various business organizations, including the Washington PUD Association, the American Public Power Association, and Northwest Public Power Association. The commission terms are staggered so that a different commissioner runs for re-election every two years.

Commission meetings are regularly scheduled to start at 2:00pm on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month in the Klickitat PUD Board Room located at 1313 S. Columbus Avenue, Goldendale, Washington. Special meetings and workshops are called by the Commission as the need arises, and are advertised in the local newspapers under Legal Notices.

Current agendas for upcoming Commission Meetings are posted on our website the Friday prior to each meeting. Minutes of the Commission Meetings are also available on our website once they are approved by the Commission.

Board of Commissioners

Douglas B. Miller, President of the Board 

     Doug Miller was elected as a Klickitat PUD Commissioner in December 2016, and began serving his 1st six-year term January 2017.  A longtime resident of the County, he is returning to the place where he was employed for over 30 years to continue fostering the ideology of public service. Before retiring, Doug was the Project Manager of the PUD's water-wastewater department and will be using that knowledge in his new role.  As an elected PUD Commissioner, Doug is following in his grandfather's footsteps who was also a Klickitat PUD Commissioner.  He is an active participant in the family farm, along with other community service organizations.
Term expiration - December 2022, District 2

Randy L. Knowles, Vice President of the Board 

     Randy Knowles was first elected to serve on the Board of Commissioners in December 1994. Commissioner Knowles is a lifelong resident of Klickitat County’s west end. Although he considers himself semi-retired, Randy still manages a variety of business ventures. A logger by trade, he still deals in timberland and occasionally heads to the woods to do some logging himself.  
Term expiration - December 2024, District 1

Dan G. Gunkel, Secretary of the Board
DanGunkel      Dan Gunkel was first elected as a Klickitat PUD Commissioner in December 1990. Dan was re-elected in November 2020 and began serving his 6th six-year term on the Board in January 2021. Commissioner Gunkel was appointed to Energy Northwest’s Board of Directors in 1991, and elected to their Executive Board in June 1994 serving as Vice Chairman from 2003 to 2006. Dan was also appointed chairman of Energy Northwest's Operations, Construction and Safety Committee in June 2006.  Commissioner Gunkel has been a resident of Klickitat County his entire life. Following in his parents’ footsteps, Dan is a co-owner of Gunkel Orchards, responsible for shipping and marketing of the produce.
Term expiration - December 2026, District 3

Board of Commissioners and Management Support - Contact Luann at 509-773-7606


General Manager, Jim Smith 

Jim Smith     Jim Smith was hired by the Klickitat PUD management team in November 1997 as Engineering Manager. Jim's expertise allowed the District to successfully expand into generation and transmission business lines. During his tenure as Engineering Manager, the PUD designed and built the H.W. Hill Landfill Gas Project, the White Creek Wind I Project, the addition of the District’s 230 kV facilities, as well as SCADA and GIS systems.

   Jim was appointed as General Manager in December 2009.  His focus has been to recruit and develop employees and management staff as many employees retire, as well as guide the District through the many radical changes in the electric utility business.  
Contact information: 509-773-7617.

Department Managers:

Gwyn Miller - Assistant General Manager, 509-773-7648. 

Ron Ihrig - Operations Manager, 509-773-7629. 

Kevin Ricks - Generation Assets & Special Projects Manager, 509-773-7430.  

Mike DeMott - Director of Finance and Power Management, 509-773-7603. 

Brandy Myers - Customer Service Supervisor, 509-773-7609.